Print this page   Close this window

Southern University System

Southern University Board of Supervisors

              Dr. Leon R. Tarver II
    Board of Supervisors Chairman

The Board of Supervisors for the Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College was created by the Louisiana State Constitution of 1974.
The Board is vested with the responsibility via the Constitution and Louisiana State Revised Statutes for the management and supervision of the institutions of higher education, statewide agricultural programs and other programs which comprise the Southern University System.
The powers of the Board are subject only to those which are granted by the State Constitution to the Louisiana State Board of Regents.
The first official meeting of the Board of Supervisors was held in May 1975 on the Southern University campus in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.
Dr. Leon R. Tarver II, Chairman

Dr. Ray L. Belton, President-Chancellor
and Secretary to the Board

Board Staff

Maya R. Banks
Board Relations Coordinator

Post Office Box 10878
Southern University
Baton Rouge, LA 70813

4th Floor, J.S. Clark Administration Building
Southern University
Baton Rouge, LA 70813

Telephone: 225.771.4600
Fax: 225.771.5791