Southern Bulletin

<< Return

SU alumni elected LLBC officers - 1/13/2013 -

State Rep. Katrina Jackson, D-Monroe, a SU Law Center alum, was recently elected chairperson of the Louisiana Legislative Black Caucus, along with five other officers for 2013-2014, who are SU graduates.

She takes over from state Rep. Patricia Smith, D-Baton Rouge, on February 1 as the head of the 32-member group of state representatives and senators.

Other SU alumni elected were State Representatives. Ed Price, D-Gonzales (SUBR), and Wesley Bishop, D-New Orleans (SUNO), were selected as vice chairperson and first vice chairperson, respectively. State Representatives Ledricka Thierry, D-Opelousas (SULC), was tapped as treasurer, and Vincent Pierre, D-Lafayette (SUBR), was elected parliamentarian. State Senator Troy Brown, D-Napoleonville (SUBR), was picked as Senate Whip.


© Copyright 2017, Southern University System. All rights reserved.