SU professor a contributor to the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

Stephen McGuire The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2017 to Rainer Weiss (LIGO/Virgo Collaboration), Barry C. Barish (LIGO/Virgo Collaboration), and Kip S. Thorne (LIGO/Virgo Collaboration), "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves." The announcement was made on October 3, 2017. The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Stockholm Sweden on December 10, 2017. "I’m positively delighted that the Nobel Committee has recognized the LIGO discovery and its profound impact on the way we view the cosmos. This prize rewards not just Kip, Rai, and Barry but also the large number of very smart and dedicated scientists and engineers who worked tirelessly over the past decades to make LIGO a reality,” said LIGO executive director, David Reitze, in the official LIGO press release. Stephen C. McGuire, the Southern University principal investigator to the LIGO Scientific Collaboration (LSC), is one of those scientists.Read full story here (

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.