Task Force Subcommittees

COVID-19 Testing for Vulnerable and At-Risk Populations



Mary Meg Brown, Ph.D., RN, ACNS-BC

Grambling State University

Associate Dean and Professor - School of Nursing



Raynando L. Banks, M.D.

Baton Rouge General Mayo Clinic Care Network

Family Medicine


Sen. Regina Ashford Barrow

Louisiana State Senate

District 15


Terry C. Davis, Ph.D.

LSUHC-Shreveport/Feist-Weiller Cancer Center

Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics


Rebekah E. Gee, M.D., MPH

LSU Health Care Services

Chief Executive Officer


Tiffany J. Netters, MPA, PMP

504HealthNet, Inc.

Executive Director


Carol Smith, MBA, MHCM, BSN

Jefferson Parish

Healthcare Consultant


Rani G. Whitfield, M.D.

Our Lady of the Lake Physician Group

Family Practice Physician


Gary M. Wiltz, M.D.

Teche Action Clinics

Chief Executive Officer


COVID-19 Policy and Regulatory Affairs


Damien Ejigiri, Ph.D.

Southern University and A&M College

Dean and Professor - Nelson Mandela School of Government and Social Sciences



Eric van Holm, Ph.D.

University of New Orleans

Assistant Professor, Political Science


Deleso A. Alford, J.D., LLM

Southern University Law Center

Professor of Law


Tavell L. Kindall, APRN, FNP-BC, DNP

Loyola University, Adjunct Instructor

St. Thomas Community Health Center

Nurse Practitioner and Director

HIV Prevention and Treatment Center


Rep. Dustin Miller

District 40

Louisiana House of Representatives


Alma C. Stewart, RN, M.S.

Louisiana Center for Health Equity

President and Founder


Christopher J. Tyson, J.D.

LSU Law Center

Newman Trowbridge Distinguished Professor of Law



COVID-19 Communication and Messaging 



Dereck J. Rovaris Sr., Ph.D.

Louisiana State University

Vice Provost for Diversity and Chief Diversity Officer



Corey Hebert, M.D.

Dillard University

Chief Medical Officer/Assistant Professor - Tulane and LSU


Lanor Curole

United Houma Nation

Tribal Administrator/Director

National President of the Consortia of Administrators for Native American Rehabilitation


Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D.

Tulane University

Gerald S. Berenson Chair in Preventative Cardiology


Councilwoman Helena Moreno

New Orleans City Council – At Large


Councilwoman Cyndi Nguyen

New Orleans City Council - District E




COVID-19 in Special Populations- Nursing Home Residents



Alicia Bates, Ph.D., NP-C, CDE

Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University

Assistant Professor, FNP Program Director



Jeanine S. Thomas, Ph.D., MSN, BSN, RN, OCN

Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University

Assistant Professor



LSU Health New Orleans School of Nursing

Assistant Professor of Clinical Nursing

Director of NP Programs, Coordinator of AGACNP Concentration


Cindy Schneider, MSN, RN

Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University

Assistant Professor


Kathleen Tate, EdD, MSN, MBA, CNE, RN

Associate Professor of Nursing,

Northwestern State University


Lisa VanHoose, Ph.D., MPH, PT

University of Louisiana at Monroe

Associate Professor and Program Director in the Physical Therapy


COVID-19 in Special Populations – LA Prisons



Shelina Davis, MPH, MSW

Louisiana Public Health Institute

Chief Executive Officer



Michael W. McClanahan


State President


Connie L. Arnold, Ph.D.

LSUHSC- Shreveport/Feist-Weiller Cancer Center

Professor of Medicine


Faye Grimsley, Ph.D., CIH, MSPH

Xavier University
Head, Department of Public Health


Erica Rogers, RN

Braveheart Foundation



Frederick L. Thomas, MSCJ

National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE)

National 2nd VP



COVID-19 Health Equity Dashboard



Demetrius Porche, DNS, Ph.D., APRN, ANEF, FACHE, FAANP, FAAN

LSUHSC School of Nursing – Dean and Professor

President, Louisiana Council of Administration of Nursing Education



Judy Reese Morse

Urban League of Louisiana

President and CEO


Davondra Brown, M.Ed., MCHES

Louisiana Department of Health- Office of Health Equity, Community Partnerships

Deputy Director


Peter J. Fos, Ph.D.

Dillard University

Professor of Health and Wellness and Health Equity Researcher


Kathleen B. Kennedy, Pharm.D.

Xavier University of Louisiana

Professor and Dean, College of Pharmacy



COVID-19 Racial Disparities in Healthcare



Rebekah E. Gee, M.D., MPH

LSU Health Care Services

Chief Executive Officer



Robert Maupin, MD, FACOG

LSUHC-New Orleans

Associate Dean of Diversity and Community Engagement


Kristi L. Anderson, Ph.D.

LSUHSC – Lafayette

Director of Graduate Medical Education


Takeisha C. Davis, M.D., MPH

New Orleans East Hospital

President and Chief Executive Officer


Amanda Dumas, M.D., MSc, FAAP

Louisiana Department of Health

Assistant Medical Director


Amy Lesen, Ph.D.

Dillard University

Associate Professor of Biology and Researcher


Eboni Price-Haywood, M.D., MPH, FACP

Physician, Primary Care and Wellness Center

Director, Center for Outcomes and Health Services Research

Director, Primary Care Research Network

Associate Professor, Ochsner Clinical School - University of Queensland


COVID-19 Community Outreach and Stakeholder Engagement



Raymond A. Jetson


Chief Executive Catalyst


Margarita Echeverri, Ph.D.

Xavier University

Educational Coordinator in Health Disparities, Cultural Competence and Diversity at the Center for Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Education


Christian J. Engle

YMCA of the Capital Area

President and CEO


Tina B. Granger, MSW, LMSW

Nicholls State University

Sociology Program Coordinator/Instructor


Catherine G. Haywood, BSW, CHW

Louisiana Community Health Workers Outreach Network, Inc. (LACHON)



Theron J. Jackson, M.Div.

Morning Star Baptist Church/Together Louisiana and Nehemiah Faith-Based Coalition



Rudy Macklin, BS

Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals

Bureau of Minority Health Access


Orlando F. McMeans, Ph.D.

Southern University Agricultural Research and Extension Center



Tiffany J. Netters, MPA, PMP

504HealthNet, Inc.

Executive Director


Rhoda Reddix, Ph.D.

Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University

Associate Professor, Director of Service Learning, specialization, health disparities: community engagement and service


Erica Rogers, RN

Braveheart Foundation



Frederick L. Thomas, MSCJ

National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE)

National 2nd VP



COVID-19 Data and Analysis



Ziad Ashkar, M.D., MPH

University of Louisiana-Lafayette Director -

Louisiana Center for Health Innovation and Chair in Health Informatics



Simone Rambotti, Ph.D.

Loyola University

Assistant Professor of Sociology


Jacqueline Harris, Ph.D.

Grambling State University

Assistant Professor of Chemistry


Peter Katzmarzyk, Ph.D.

Pennington Biomedical Research Center

Professor and Marie Edana Corcoran Endowed Chair in Pediatric Obesity and Diabetes/Assoc. Exec. Dir. For Population and Public Health Sciences


Daniel Sarpong, Ph.D.

Xavier University

Director of the Center for Minority Health and Health Disparities Research and Education, Endowed Chair of Health Disparities and Professor of Biostatistics in the College of Pharmacy




*Students enrolled at Louisiana higher education institutions will be utilized to provide research and technical assistance.

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.