Task Force Members

Sandra Brown, DNS, APRN, FNP-BC, CNE, ANEF, FAANP, FAAN (Co-Chair)
Southern University and A&M Baton Rouge
Dean and Professor, College of Nursing and Allied Health

Thomas LaVeist, Ph.D. (Co-Chair)
Tulane University
Weatherhead Presidential Chair in Health Equity, Dean of Public
Health and Tropical Medicine

Earl “Nupsius” Benjamin-Robinson, Dr.H.Sc.
Louisiana Department of Health- Office of Health Equity, Community Partnerships
Deputy Director

Takeisha Charles Davis, M.D., MPH
New Orleans East Hospital
President and Chief Executive Officer

Rebekah E. Gee, M.D., MPH
LSU Health Care Services
Chief Executive Officer

Corey Hebert, M.D.
Dillard University
Chief Medical Officer / Assistant professor - Tulane and LSU

Theron J. Jackson, M.Div.
Morning Star Baptist Church/Together Louisiana and Nehemiah Faith-Based Coalition

Raymond A. Jetson
Chief Executive Catalyst

Peter Katzmarzyk, Ph.D.
Pennington Biomedical Research Center
Professor and Marie Edana Corcoran Endowed Chair in Pediatric Obesity and Diabetes/Assoc. Exec. Dir. For Population and Public Health Sciences

Kathleen B. Kennedy, Pharm.D.
Xavier University of Louisiana
Professor and Dean, College of Pharmacy

Michael W. McClanahan
State President

Orlando McMeans, Ph.D.
Southern University Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Judy Reese Morse
Urban League of Louisiana
President and CEO

Demetrius Porche, DNS, PhD, APRN, ANEF, FACHE, FAANP, FAAN
LSUHSC School of Nursing – Dean and Professor
President, Louisiana Council of Administration of Nursing Education

Rani G. Whitfield, M.D.
Our Lady of the Lake Physician Group
Family Practice Physician

Gary M. Wiltz, M.D.
Teche Action Clinics
Chief Executive Officer


Legislative Members

Sen. Regina Barrow
Louisiana State Senate
District 15

Rep. Dustin Miller
Louisiana House of Representatives
District 40


Task Force Administration

Ray L. Belton, Ph.D.
Southern University System

Kim Hunter-Reed, Ph.D.
Louisiana Board of Regents

Kimberly Lewis Robinson, JD, MPA
Louisiana Department of Revenue

Katara Williams, Ph.D.
Southern University System
Chief of Staff

Adren Wilson, Ph.D.
Office of the Governor
Deputy Chief of Staff

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.